Re-question, Reset : Portfolio of compositions accompanied by a written commentary.

Bosnic, Maja. 2015. Re-question, Reset : Portfolio of compositions accompanied by a written commentary.. Doctoral thesis, Goldsmiths, University of London [Thesis]

Text (Re-question, Reset : Portfolio of compositions accompanied by a written commentary.)
MUS_thesis_BosnicM_2015.pdf - Accepted Version
Available under License Creative Commons Attribution Non-commercial No Derivatives.

Download (34MB) | Preview
Text (Portfolio of compositions)
Portfolio of compositions.pdf - Accepted Version

Download (11MB) | Preview

Abstract or Description

This research project attempts to demonstrate potentials of repeated questioning and repeated setting of common occurrences in the process of composing, as a method fruitful with alternative solutions which could contribute to development of contemporary music. It investigates techniques of modifying familiar systems of sound organization by re-questioning some of their principles and resetting them in a manner different than those which have been used in the past. As a result, each re-questioned method influenced development of compositional ideas that practically tested different approaches to particular issues. Spliced discontinuity was organized in a patchwork form; the conventional groups of the orchestra were rearranged and treated as percussion instruments, and the audience was given an opportunity to become a performer.

The research demonstrates the creation process of methods that have their roots in the legacy of contemporary music achievements. Moreover, since they have adapted to the concepts found in everyday life environment, as a result they propose alternative and original solutions for the future development.

In accordance with diversity of their concepts, the submitted compositions differ in instrumentation, type of material, formal organization and style of notation. The written commentary presents supplementary information on each piece, with an intention of providing the reader with an insight into the formation and evolution of the original concept, with references to the works of John Cage, Karlheinz Stockhausen, Louis Andriessen, John Zorn, Raymond Murray Schafer, Luigi Nono and Cornelius Cardew. Analyses of the compositions are supported with graphical aids, such as tables, figures, and appendices, while the scores and recordings are submitted in a separate volume that should accompany the written commentaries.

Item Type:

Thesis (Doctoral)

Identification Number (DOI):


experimental music, audience participation, interactive composition, open work, randomization of instrument groups in the orchestra, patchwork form, conceptual music

Departments, Centres and Research Units:



30 April 2015

Item ID:


Date Deposited:

25 Jun 2015 14:33

Last Modified:

08 Sep 2022 09:10


View statistics for this item...

Edit Record Edit Record (login required)