music: a movement

Kirby, Jenn. 2022. music: a movement. [Composition]

[error in script]

Item Type:

Creators: Kirby, Jenn
Abstract or Description:

Piece for percussionist and Zoom, begins with the premise that sound is only one way that music can materialise. The piece seeks to explore the movement involved in sound production as the material and expression of the music. The performer’s exploration of soundless music is revealed through overlapping videos that the audience experience through Zoom. Sound may occur, but it is the presence of physicality and movement which realises the music.

In this concert, we will imagine that ZOOM could be regarded not as a transparent medium for simulating what has been lost, but as a “musical instrument” equipped with particular biases and affordances, and that there could be a new genre of music that can only be performed and experienced via this instrument: ZOOMUSIC.

Director: You Nakai (No Collective/Already Not Yet/S.E.L.O.U.T.)

Saxophone: Masanori Oishi
Tuba: Shinya Hashimoto
Piano: Aki Kuroda
Percussion: Yoshiko Kanda
Electronics: Sumihisa Arima

Camera: Rintaro Takakusaki, Rei Ariyoshi (S.E.L.O.U.T.)
MC etc: Aevi Nakai Gluzman

Producer: Ayako Fukunaga (Naya Collective)

Support: Nomura Foundation, Japan Arts Council, Side Effects Laboratory of the Univesity of Tokyo [S.E.L.O.U.T.], Art Center of the University of Tokyo

Official URL:
Departments, Centres and Research Units: Music
Music > Unit for Sound Practice Research
Related URL:
Item ID: 32916
Date Deposited: 04 Jan 2023 14:03
Last Modified: 04 Jan 2023 14:03


Edit Record Edit Record (login required)